Awards and Sponsors

The Bill Moggridge Awards is an annual design awards program sponsored by Techmer PM, IDEO, and the Bill Moggridge Awards Sustaining Committee. The purpose of this important program is to cultivate the next generation of designers and honor the life and career of legendary designer Bill Moggridge.

Mr. Moggridge was co-founder of IDEO and a pioneer in interaction design. A recipient of the RSA Student Design Award a half century ago, he credited the honor with giving him the confidence to start his own design firm in London in 1969, adding a second office ten  years later in Palo Alto, California. In 1991, IDEO was created when he joined his company with those of David Kelley and Mike Nuttall.

While the Bill Moggridge Awards began in 2014 with the RSA Student Design program, the sponsors are expanding the awards this year to the RSA Global from RSA-US and adding three institutions that profoundly influenced Mr. Moggridge’s life.

The expansion is intended to greatly increase the impact of the high-profile award and underscores the sponsors’ appreciation for Mr. Moggridge and the long-lasting contributions he made to the design community.

Participating Institutions

In 2016, the Bill Moggridge Awards added three new institutions where Mr. Moggridge’s teaching and presence had a significant impact: the Royal College of Art in London where he was a visiting professor in interaction design; Stanford d. School where he was an associate professor; and California College of the Arts in San Francisco where he received an honorary doctorate.  In addition, the RSA will continue to give out an annual award, but through RSA Global in place of RSA-US. To learn more, visit the institutions page.

 2016 Winners

2016 winners of the Bill Moggridge Awards include Hoda Khoja of RSA-Global, Axel Bluhme of Royal College of Art, and Stephen Moore of California College of the Arts. The Stanford d.School will announce its winner later this year.

Winning the award really validated that I think I’m on the right path now and the future is really wide open.
— Stephen Moore, a 2016 Bill Moggridge Award winner

Previous Winners

Previous Bill Moggridge Award recipients include Sam Bertain and Leslie Greene, students of the California College of the Arts (2014), and Keshav Ramaswami of the Pratt Institute, New York City (2015). For the full set of award winners, please visit the Award Winners page. 

Techmer PM’s sponsorship of the Bill Moggridge Awards is a natural and important extension of the company’s emphasis on materials innovation. Supporting education also is an ongoing priority for Techmer PM, especially when it comes to fostering the next generation of designers.